About Us  |  Shop  | 

Community Resources - for Community GroupsInstitute of Community Directors AustraliaGive Now - for IndividualsJoin In Join Up - for IndividualsCorporate Responsibility - for BusinessGrants Management - for Government

Media Release

2015 Commonwealth Bank Treasurers' Awards Launched

2015 Commonwealth Bank Treasurers' Awards Launched

February 23, 2015

The unsung community treasurers, heroes of the community sector, will finally get the recognition they deserve when the 2015 Commonwealth Bank Not-for-Profit Treasurers' Awards get underway today.

The 2015 Commonwealth Bank Not-for-Profit Treasurers' Awards, now in their fourth year, are about recognising the contribution community treasurers make to their own groups and to the not-for-profit sector in Australia as a whole.

The awards are being launched by state and territory parliamentary treasurers across the country today.

"Every year, hundreds of community groups around Australia rely on the voluntary work of treasurers in their organisations," said Our Community Group Managing Director Denis Moriarty.

"The Treasurers' Awards are a great way of recognising this work in our community. These individuals are responsible for the financial operations of their organisations, playing an important role in ensuring that community groups meet their obligations.

Treasurers in not-for-profit organisations are also being called on to take part in the 2015 awards by contributing their ideas for improving financial management and oversight. The best three ideas will win $5,000 for their organisation, plus an iPad for themselves.

The Treasurers' Awards are an initiative of Our Community, one of Australia's oldest social enterprises and one of the country's highest-ranking B Corps. The awards are also supported by Commonwealth Bank as part of its Not-for-Profit Sector Banking program.

"Treasurers help to manage a sector worth more than $100 billion nationwide, a sector that makes a positive contribution to the lives of millions, yet they receive little in return," Mr Moriarty said. "It's our turn to give back."

Nominations for the Treasurers' Awards will be open until April 10, 2015, with winners to be announced during Not-for-Profit Finance Week in May 2015.

Nominations can be made at www.ourcommunity.com.au/treasurersawards

Further information/comment:

Denis Moriarty - Group Managing Director, Our Community
03 9320 6812 0417 184 744 | denism@ourcommunity.com.au

(Download this media release in Word format here: www.communitydirectors.com.au/files/ICDA/TreasurersAwards2015.docx)

Our Community Pty Ltd   www.ourcommunity.com.au   ABN 24 094 608 705
National Headquarters: 51 Stanley St, West Melbourne Victoria 3003 Australia
(PO Box 354 North Melbourne 3051 Victoria)
Telephone (03) 9320 6800   Email service@ourcommunity.com.au