Media Release

The unpaid treasurers of a Queensland-based mental health peer-support organisation, a Victorian early learning centre, and a Victorian not-for-profit ski club have been named Australia's top treasurers for 2016.

Kathryn Harrison from GROW, Paul Beanland from Highgate Early Learning Centre, and Belinda Knight from Hotham Marouka Ski Club were named winners of the 2016 Commonwealth Bank Not-for-Profit Treasurers' Awards in Sydney on September 20.

The awards were presented by Australian Charities and Not-for-Profits Commissioner Susan Pascoe at CommBank's Sydney headquarters.

The awards, an initiative of leading social enterprise Our Community and Commonwealth Bank Not-for-Profit Sector Banking, are an annual celebration of the thousands of people who volunteer their time as treasurers for not-for-profit organisations across Australia.

The awards are presented in two parts - part A of the awards recognises the unpaid work of treasurers across the country to keep the books in good order and their fellow board members informed and inspired. A total of 1253 treasurers were nominated for this section of the awards, each taking home an official Certificate of Appreciation.

Part B rewards treasurers who provide the best ideas for improvement of financial management practice. Ms Harrison, Mr Beanland and Ms Knight were the winners of this section of the awards, taking home the title and a $5000 donation for each of their organisations.

In total more than 1500 submissions were received for this year's awards.

To see a list of honorees, read about the winners, and find a summary of financial management improvement ideas submitted by all entrants to the awards, download the 2016 tribute booklet here.



Denis Moriarty - Group Managing Director, Our Community
0417 184 744 |

Kathy Richardson
0439 397 781 |